Upcoming Events

En esta sección tendremos información de eventos que les pueden interesar a los instructores de español como lengua de herencia. Please get in touch with us if there is a relevant event that you would like to advertise or share with the community.

OER Hangout Webinar: Teaching and assessing grammar through critical pedagogy for Spanish heritage language
September 28, 2020, 4 - 5pm CDT (2pm PDT / 3pm MDT / 5pm EDT)

Facilitated by Dr. Emily Bernate (St. Edward’s University)

How can we teach grammar in a way that validates students’ home language practices, even when they differ from standard language? In this session, we will discuss the meaning of critical pedagogy and ways we can apply this perspective to language teaching. We will learn... Read more

Heritage Teacher Summit
August 1, 2020 - September 30, 2020

Twelve sessions led by twelve different teachers. See the link for the schedule.

2020 Conference of Community-Based Heritage Language Schools
Friday, October 9, 12:30 – 6:00 PM EDT and Saturday, October 10, 10:00 AM – 6:00 PM EDT

After the conference opening, we will have an opportunity to interact with leaders of organizations and initiatives that are of interest and can be helpful to heritage language schools. There will then be six workshops on topics that are of interest to leaders in these schools. You will be able to participate in all six... Read more

Coalition of Community-Based Heritage Language Schools Conference
October 10, 2020
American University

We hold a conference each year, where program directors and administrators of community-based heritage language schools; members of the language communities involved in these schools; and directors and leaders in public, private, and charter schools who are interested in working with community-based heritage language schools come together to share research and best practices.

Creative Commons LicenseThe text of COERLL’s Heritage Spanish website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. Please be aware that some of the outside content listed on the site is copyrighted. See licensing page for more details.